Taking Care of Highlighted Hair

Caring for highlighted hair

Since November last year I have been having blonde highlights added to my hair, and I’ve gone blonder and blonder every six weeks.  I’ve never been blonde before, but I am loving it!  I think it looks so good and I’m enjoying it looking so different – I think it really suits me!

Being blonde, though, means that I have to think more carefully about the way I take care of my hair.  It gets very dry, especially at the ends. And it can get quite unmanageable in terms of combing it out after washing.  Also, I’ve noticed my hair is a lot frizzier. That’s the thing about bleach unfortunately!

Therefore, my attitude to picking out haircare products, ie just buy stuff that’s on offer, was not going to cut it.  So I started doing a bit more research and I’ve now got a set of products that are working for me really well.  My hair is smooth and soft, frizz-free and being treated for damage and I’m really happy with the condition.

Here are the products that I’ve been using and loving:

TRESemme Salon Silk Shampoo and Conditioner

These products are designed to give your hair moisture and tame frizz and flyaways.  I’ve been using the shampoo and conditioner for about 6 weeks now and I can really notice a difference in terms of how soft and smooth my hair feels after blowdrying.  It’s a lot more manageable and I love the way they leave my hair feeling.

Herbal Essences Bee Strong Intensive Mask

I use this mask 1-2 times a week to give my hair more moisture and to try and tackle damage to my hair.  I run this through my hair after shampooing and then leave it on until the end of my shower before rinsing off.  I love the smell of this!  It’s got honey and apricot extracts and it leaves your hair smelling so nice!  But more than this though, I have noticed a real difference with how smooth my hair looks and feels.

L’Oreal Paris Elvive Extraordinary Oil for Coloured Hair

I smooth this oil through my hair before combing and then blowdrying.  It really helps with combing my hair through without it getting too knotty and breaking and after blowdrying gives it a nice shine.  This is made with a blend of 6 flower extracts so it also smells incredible on your hair, and you can use it before shampooing for extra colour protection and after blowdrying for a silky finish.

I would love to know of more products to try to keep my blonde hair in the best condition possible.  Please let me know of any products that you’ve used and really liked in the comments below and I’ll try and give some of them a go.

Highlighted hair

2 thoughts on “Taking Care of Highlighted Hair

Leave a Reply

